ACH Fees in 2026: The Rate Is Capped, the Penalties Are Not
ACH costs 0.8% with a $5.00 cap at Stripe, so a $10,000 invoice costs $5 to collect and a card would cost $290. The fees that surprise people are the flat ones: $4.00 per failed payment, $15.00 per dispute, and a 1.2% two-day settlement rate whose cap status Stripe does not state.
What ACH actually costs in 2026
The headline ACH rate is cheap and capped: at Stripe it is 0.8% per payment with a $5.00 ceiling, so a $10,000 invoice costs $5.00 to collect. What almost nobody prices in is that every ACH penalty fee is flat and uncapped. A failed payment costs $4.00 and a disputed one costs $15.00, regardless of the amount. That inverts the whole cost structure: ACH is the cheapest rail in existence for large invoices and a genuinely punishing one for small recurring charges against shaky bank accounts.
Sourcing note: every Stripe figure on this page is from stripe.com's own local payment methods pricing page and its ACH Direct Debit documentation, both read September 23, 2026. Nothing here is estimated and nothing is quoted from a comparison site. Where a number is not published, this page says so instead of guessing.
The ACH rate card, in one table
| What you are paying for | Stripe's published US price |
|---|---|
| Standard ACH debit (collecting from a customer) | 0.8% per transaction, $5.00 cap |
| Two-day settlement ACH debit | 1.2% per transaction |
| Instant bank account validation | $1.50 each |
| Failed payment | $4.00 |
| Disputed payment | $15.00 |
| Card payment, for comparison (domestic) | 2.9% + 30¢, no cap |
Two numbers in that table decide almost every real-world outcome, and neither is the 0.8%. The first is the $5.00 cap. The second is the $4.00 failed-payment fee, which is the line most businesses never model and the one that actually determines whether ACH saves you money on small tickets.
The cap binds at $625, and everything above it is free money
A 0.8% rate that stops at $5.00 means the cap is reached at $5.00 ÷ 0.008, which is $625. Below that you pay 0.8%. Above it you pay exactly $5.00, forever, no matter how large the invoice gets.
| Invoice | ACH (0.8%, $5 cap) | Card (2.9% + 30¢) | Card costs this much more |
|---|---|---|---|
| $100 | $0.80 | $3.20 | 4.0x |
| $625 | $5.00 | $18.43 | 3.7x |
| $2,500 | $5.00 | $72.80 | 14.6x |
| $10,000 | $5.00 | $290.30 | 58x |
| $25,000 | $5.00 | $725.30 | 145x |
This is why any business invoicing in the thousands should be pushing customers onto ACH rather than accepting cards, and why the "we take all major credit cards" line on a contractor's invoice is quietly expensive. A roofing company running four $12,000 jobs a month pays $20 in ACH fees or about $1,393 in card fees. That is a truck payment.
It is also why the reverse advice is wrong. Below $625 the cap does nothing at all and ACH is a plain 0.8%, which is still cheaper than cards but no longer dramatic. On a $40 invoice ACH saves you $1.14. On a $12,000 invoice it saves you $343.
Paying for speed turns a flat fee back into a percentage
Here is the line worth the whole page. Stripe publishes two ACH rates: 0.8% for standard settlement timing and 1.2% for two-day settlement. The $5.00 cap appears once, in the fee list under the standard rate, and the page does not restate it for the two-day rate.
If the cap does not carry over, the arithmetic is brutal. A $10,000 invoice is $5.00 on standard timing and $120.00 on two-day, which is 24 times the price for two days of speed. A $25,000 invoice would be $5.00 against $300.00. If the cap does carry, both are $5.00 and the choice is free.
We are not going to tell you which it is, because Stripe does not say on that page and we are not going to invent it. What we will tell you is that the difference between those two readings is $295 on a single invoice, which makes it the first question to ask your account manager before you switch a large-ticket business to faster settlement. This is a recurring pattern with payment pricing: the mechanism gets a name and a rate, and the qualifier that decides what it actually costs you is left off the page.
The fees that are not the rate: failures and disputes
ACH is not a guaranteed payment method. Stripe's own documentation says it takes up to four business days to receive acknowledgement of success or failure, which means an ACH payment that looks fine on Tuesday can fail on Friday. When it does, you pay $4.00. When a customer disputes one, you pay $15.00.
Both are flat. Neither scales with the transaction. That is fine on a $10,000 invoice and ruinous on a small one:
| Scenario | Successful ACH fee | Cost if it fails | Failure costs this much more |
|---|---|---|---|
| $40 subscription | $0.32 | $4.00 | 12.5x |
| $150 monthly retainer | $1.20 | $4.00 | 3.3x |
| $1,200 invoice | $5.00 | $4.00 | 0.8x |
Run that across a subscriber base and the effect is real. A $40-a-month product with a 3% ACH failure rate pays $0.32 in rate plus $0.12 in expected failure fees, an effective 1.1% rather than 0.8%. At a 10% failure rate, which is not unheard of for consumer accounts with low balances, it is $0.72 all in, or 1.8%. Still under card rates, but not the number on the pricing page, and worth knowing before you migrate a whole subscriber base off cards to save money.
Stripe will automatically retry a failed ACH debit a maximum of two times, no more than 40 days after the original attempt. That retry ceiling is the part to design around: if a customer's account is empty on the 1st, you get two more chances and then the payment is your problem to chase manually.
Where ACH is the wrong answer
Three cases, stated plainly, because the rest of this page is an argument for ACH.
- You need the money today. ACH is not fast. Up to four business days to even know whether it worked is a different world from a card authorization that succeeds or declines in two seconds. If your cash position depends on the payment clearing this week, the rail matters more than the fee.
- Your average ticket is small and your customers' balances are thin. The $4.00 failure fee is the whole argument. A consumer subscription under $30 with a meaningful failure rate can cost more to run on ACH than the spread against cards saves.
- Your customer will not do it. A card form converts better than a bank-account form, and a 2.9% fee on a sale you actually made beats 0.8% on a sale that never happened. Offer both and let the large invoices find the cheap rail on their own.
The general rule that falls out: cards for the checkout, ACH for the invoice. Small, impulsive, one-time payments go on cards because conversion is worth more than the fee. Large, expected, recurring payments go on ACH because the cap is worth more than the convenience. Most businesses that are overpaying have simply never split the two.
What a bank charges, and why we are not putting a number on it
Your bank's ACH pricing is a separate question from your processor's, and it is genuinely not publishable. Business banking ACH origination is quoted per account, frequently bundled into a treasury-management package, and the per-entry price a ten-person company gets is not the one a hundred-person company gets. We went looking for Nacha's own published network fee schedule while writing this and the page we expected to find it on returned a 404, so there is no authoritative public per-entry figure to quote here.
What to do instead takes ten minutes: pull your bank's commercial fee schedule, find the ACH origination line, and check whether there is a monthly platform fee on top of the per-entry price. Then compare it against your processor. For a business collecting from customers the processor rate usually wins on simplicity; for a business paying vendors in volume, a bank origination arrangement is frequently cheaper than any app. Our comparison of ACH vs wire transfer covers the payables side, including what Bill.com and Melio charge per payment.
How ACH fees compare with everything else you could accept
Put next to sd's other published rate cards, the picture is not close for large tickets. Cards run 2.9% + $0.30 at Stripe, PayPal's Checkout rate is 3.49% + $0.49, and neither has a ceiling. ACH is 0.8% with a $5.00 ceiling. On a $5,000 invoice that is $5.00 against $145.30 and $174.99 respectively.
The trade you are making is certainty for price. A card payment is authorized instantly and a chargeback is fought under card-network rules with a documented dispute process. An ACH payment is slower, can fail days later, and its dispute costs $15.00 to lose. If you are choosing what to put on your invoices, the right split is usually to accept both and make ACH the default for anything over about a thousand dollars, which is where the cap turns a percentage into a rounding error. If you are still deciding how to get set up at all, our explainer on what a merchant account is covers the plumbing underneath both rails.
The bottom line
ACH costs 0.8% up to $625 and a flat $5.00 above it, which makes it the cheapest way in existence to collect a large invoice, by a factor that reaches 58x against cards at $10,000. The fees that will actually surprise you are the flat ones: $4.00 when a payment fails, $15.00 when one is disputed, $1.50 per instant account validation, and a 1.2% two-day settlement rate whose cap status Stripe does not state on its pricing page. Model the failure rate before moving a small-ticket subscription business onto ACH, ask about the two-day cap before moving a large-ticket one, and in the meantime put your biggest invoices on the cheap rail today.
Frequently Asked Questions
-
At Stripe, ACH Direct Debit is 0.8% per transaction with a $5.00 cap for standard settlement timing, and 1.2% per transaction for two-day settlement. The cap is reached at $625, so every invoice above that costs exactly $5.00 no matter how large it gets. A $10,000 invoice is $5.00 by ACH and $290.30 by card at 2.9% + 30 cents. Separately there is $1.50 per instant bank account validation, $4.00 per failed payment and $15.00 per disputed payment. All figures are from stripe.com's local payment methods pricing page, read September 23, 2026. Your bank's own ACH origination pricing is a separate question and is quoted per account rather than published.
-
At $625. A 0.8% rate that stops at $5.00 hits the ceiling at $5.00 divided by 0.008, which is $625. Below that you pay a straight 0.8%, so a $100 invoice is $0.80. Above it you pay a flat $5.00 forever. That is why the savings against cards grow so fast with invoice size: at $625 a card costs 3.7 times as much, at $2,500 it is 14.6 times, at $10,000 it is 58 times, and at $25,000 it is 145 times. A contractor running four $12,000 jobs a month pays about $20 in ACH fees or about $1,393 in card fees for the same work.
-
Stripe charges $4.00 for a failed ACH payment. That fee is flat and does not scale with the amount, which is what makes it dangerous on small tickets: a failed $40 subscription charge costs $4.00, or 12.5 times what the successful payment's 0.8% fee would have been, and more in absolute dollars than a successful $1,200 invoice pays. ACH is not a guaranteed payment method and Stripe's documentation says it can take up to four business days to receive acknowledgement of success or failure, so a payment that looks fine on Tuesday can fail on Friday. Stripe will automatically retry a failed debit a maximum of two times, no more than 40 days after the original attempt.
-
On the fee, almost always. On the outcome, not always, and that is the part worth thinking about. A card authorization succeeds or declines in about two seconds; an ACH debit can take up to four business days to confirm and can fail after the fact. A card form also converts better than a bank-account form, and a 2.9% fee on a sale you actually made beats 0.8% on a sale that never happened. The rule that falls out is cards for the checkout and ACH for the invoice: small impulsive one-time payments go on cards because conversion is worth more than the fee, and large expected recurring payments go on ACH because the $5.00 cap is worth more than the convenience.
-
Stripe's pricing page does not say, and we are not going to guess. The page lists 0.8% for standard settlement timing and 1.2% for two-day settlement, and it prints the $5.00 cap once, inside the fee list under the standard rate, without restating it for the two-day rate. The difference between the two readings is large: if the cap carries, a $10,000 two-day payment is $5.00; if it does not, it is $120.00, which is 24 times the price for two days of speed, and on a $25,000 invoice the swing is $295. If you are moving a large-ticket business onto faster settlement, get that answer from your account manager in writing before you switch.
-
There is no useful published number, and anyone quoting you one is guessing. Business ACH origination is priced per account, frequently bundled into a treasury-management package, and the per-entry rate a ten-person company is offered is not the one a hundred-person company is offered. We went looking for Nacha's own network fee schedule while researching this page and the URL we expected it on returned a 404, so there is no authoritative public figure to cite. The ten-minute version: pull your bank's commercial fee schedule, find the ACH origination line, and check whether a monthly platform fee sits on top of the per-entry price. For collecting from customers a processor rate usually wins on simplicity; for paying vendors in volume a bank arrangement is often cheaper than any app.
-
Three cases. When you need the money this week, because up to four business days to even confirm the payment is a different world from an instant card authorization. When your average ticket is small and your customers' balances are thin, because the flat $4.00 failure fee can cost more than the spread against cards saves: a $40 product with a 10% ACH failure rate runs at an effective 1.8% rather than the advertised 0.8%. And when your customer simply will not enter bank details, because the cheapest rail on a sale that does not happen is worth nothing. Offer both and let the large invoices find the cheap rail on their own.